Parenting Products Reviews

STRIDER Balance Bike: Review

Spread the love!
Share on Facebook0Pin on Pinterest0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+0Share on StumbleUpon0Print this pageEmail this to someone

Strider Bike Review

“Where are the pedals?” asked my daughter as she opened up her new bike on Christmas morning.

I had to laugh, because that’s exactly what I said when my husband introduced me to the STRIDER balance bike.

We had been discussing what kind of bike to get our two-and-a-half year old daughter for Christmas. I wanted to get her a totally age-inappropriate Hello Kitty bike with training wheels. It was way too big for her, but it was pink and cute. (I’m very practical.)

My husband was pushing for a STRIDER. He pulled up the website on his computer and showed me. “See? They teach kids how to balance and then they don’t ever need training wheels.”

“But it doesn’t have Hello Kitty on it,” I argued.

“Guess what? Now that we have a boy, too, we don’t buy pink bikes anyway. It’s all gender-neutral from here on out!” he responded.

Ugh. Well he had a point there.

I contacted the folks at STRIDER and they were lovely enough to send me a red ST-4 for my daughter.

Strider ST-4 Balance Bike

The STRIDER balance bike is extremely lightweight and was smaller than I expected…it was perfect for my two-year-old.

After opening it on Christmas, my daughter was riding it around our house in minutes. Seriously- she just hopped on and started going!

With all the snow that we’ve had in New Jersey this winter, it took awhile for us to get outside with the bike.

 

Once we did, the results were the same as the first time she tried the STRIDER. She just hopped on and rode it all the way around the neighborhood.

She seemed to know just what to do and didn’t need any instructions or assistance from us. 

 

The best part about using a STRIDER bike is that she is learning to balance on a bike. The next step is a two-wheeler…training wheels will never be necessary!

Check out this infographic from the STRIDER website that lists all the benefits of a balance bike vs. a tricycle:

STRIDER infographic

I am so happy we went with a STRIDER! I know that both my kids will get years of enjoyment out of it.

For more information about STRIDER bikes, visit the website here.

Would you like to win a STRIDER balance bike for your child? Enter to win using the Rafflecopter widget below! Contest is open to U.S. residents only and ends on March 4, 2014.

Disclosure: STRIDER provided me with a bike for the purposes of this review. All opinions are my own. STRIDER is sponsoring this giveaway.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Spread the love!
Share on Facebook0Pin on Pinterest0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+0Share on StumbleUpon0Print this pageEmail this to someone
Previous Story
Next Story

You Might Also Like

  • Sarah @ Finnegan and the Hughes
    February 24, 2014 at 11:30 AM

    I would like this for my daughter! Looks like Lilly loved it!
    Sarah @ Finnegan and the Hughes recently posted…Thoughtful Thursday: Protect Your HeartMy Profile

  • courtney
    February 24, 2014 at 11:40 AM

    Would love to win for my daughter. She wants to learn how to ride a bike like the big kids!

  • Marissa
    February 24, 2014 at 11:45 AM

    My son would love this!

  • Jeanine @MommyEntourage
    February 24, 2014 at 11:47 AM

    I would love a STRIDER bike for my son. He has outgrown his tricycle but is not quite big enough for the bike we have here for him. I would love to win this so he could learn balance and how to ride!
    Jeanine @MommyEntourage recently posted…Winter Storms Hit the East Coast- Protecting What You Love with Master LockMy Profile

  • Julia
    February 24, 2014 at 12:04 PM

    Ooooo…would love to get this for my daughter.

  • Julia
    February 24, 2014 at 12:04 PM

    Would love this for my daughter!

  • Alexa Cohen
    February 24, 2014 at 12:31 PM

    my niece or nephew!

  • carrie
    February 24, 2014 at 12:53 PM

    I’d love one of these for my daughter! I think they are amazing!
    carrie recently posted…Parents just might be the Food Allergy BulliesMy Profile

  • Nancy
    February 24, 2014 at 1:54 PM

    My son had a great time using his cousins balance bike during christmas break. he would really enjoy using this spring

  • Marion
    February 24, 2014 at 1:55 PM

    I’d love to win a STRIDER bike for my daughter! 🙂

  • Patrycja Chudziak
    February 25, 2014 at 8:50 PM

    I would love to win for my son, he’s been wanting one. TY for the chance

  • Jennifer Almond
    February 26, 2014 at 12:54 AM

    My sons physical therapist really wants him to have one of these so I would love to win it for him!

  • Amy
    February 27, 2014 at 10:42 AM

    I have 2 boys so they would have to fight over it!

  • Poonam
    February 27, 2014 at 10:44 AM

    For my kids..

  • Christiania jefferies
    February 27, 2014 at 11:05 AM

    I would love to win the STRIDER bike for my 2 year old son, Greenley!

  • lori
    February 27, 2014 at 11:26 AM

    Never saw one of these before! My daughter would love this!

  • jeff
    February 27, 2014 at 11:27 AM

    So cool- I want one of these, but my daughter would probably appreciate more!

  • Reesa Lewandowski
    February 27, 2014 at 1:15 PM

    This would be great for my son! Or even my 3 yr old daughter! I think they would fight over it LOL!
    Reesa Lewandowski recently posted…Pin It Party Link Up!My Profile

  • Ryana Johnson
    February 27, 2014 at 1:40 PM

    Have always wanted one of these for my kids, but never been able to afford a new one and can never find them for sale used. Fingers and toes crossed and hoping I win.

  • dana
    February 27, 2014 at 5:41 PM

    I want to win this for my son.

  • Alicia
    February 28, 2014 at 1:07 PM

    I love this for my daughter she’s 18 months now with lots of Energy and everyday is eager to learn and explore the world. This STRIDER bike is perfect to teach her how to balance. I’m ready to take my little explorer everywhere.

  • Ashley N
    February 28, 2014 at 2:49 PM

    I would love to win a Strider bike for my little girl, who turns 2 next month!

  • Scotty
    March 3, 2014 at 10:53 PM

    Would be a great gift for my sons 2nd birthday!!!

  • melissa
    March 3, 2014 at 11:02 PM

    My son loves striders!

  • jeff
    March 4, 2014 at 7:59 AM

    Awesome bike! love the concept

  • Robert Arnades
    September 14, 2015 at 1:25 PM

    I Want To Win Because I Love The Features Of The Strider Balance Bike And It Would Be The Perfect Gift For My Nephew.
    Robert Arnades recently posted…Converting Child bike into a balance bikeMy Profile

  • Connect!